Month in Movies · Uncategorized

Month in Movies: September

A marvelous movie watching month! Jennifer Jones was TCM’s Star of the Month, and I’m really glad I checked out a handful of her films. I consider myself a fan now. She was such a sensitive actress, lending much of her own vulnerability to the characters she vividly brought to life.

So here are my favorite first time watches:

The Glass Slipper (1955) dir: Charles Waters

glassslipper1955_177_678x380_06092017075324

A super lovely Cinderella adaptation which reminds me why that particular fairy tale is so beloved and constantly being reworked. In this version, Leslie Caron plays Ella, a feisty and friendless orphan who lashes out at everyone else. She is neither meek nor mild, but is treated badly so she dares to stand up for herself. Her fairy godmother is an old woman that the other villagers treat with disdain because she’s batty as well as a thief. But the two strike up a friendship. Ella meets the prince before the ball, which is a narrative decision I always love in these Cinderella retellings. A very sweet and authentic film.

The Red Mill (1927) dir: Roscoe Arbuckle as William Goodrich

red-mill-1927-image-7
via Movies Silently

Absolutely hilarious and starring Marion Davies. who was a brilliant comedienne. She plays a Dutch barmaid who is cruelly mistreated by her sadistic boss. She falls in love with a handsome visitor who ignores her at first, then gets herself into a huge mess by pretending to be someone else.

The Parent Trap (1961) dir: David Swift

the-parent-trap-3
via Making Nice in the Midwest

Pure delight, pure 60s awesomeness. I loved Hayley Mills’ outfits so much, and Maureen O’Hara was just luminous. I loved the music in this film by the Sherman Brothers long before actually sitting down to watch it. The 1999 version has some competition for my affection now.

An American Tail (1986) dir: Don Bluth

469866

Don Bluth is considered one of the masters of American animation, and here’s one of the reasons why. A beautiful ode to immigrants with Russian-Jewish mice. The film is also stunningly animated, with some shots that made me gasp. The hues are all warm, soft, and sparkling. It’s a film with a lot of heart and memorable, lovable characters.

Man’s Castle (1933) dir: Frank Borzage

Spencer Tracy and Loretta Young in Frank BorzageÕs MANÕS CASTLE

An eloquent pre code from one of the best. Trina (Loretta Young) is a homeless waif who gets taken in by the gruff Bill (Spencer Tracy). A poor man himself, he’s learned to get by using his brains and charm. Trina falls in love with Bill, who teases her and claims that he’ll never be tied down. It’s amazing how much story unfolds in such little time, a well paced drama that’s never overly sentimental. Loretta Young was also so luminous; her beauty just makes me think of saints in stained glass windows.

Jennifer Jones films:

The Song of Bernadette (1943) dir: Henry King

tumblr_ow5bakod9r1s5wuldo9_1280

One of those rare faith films that can connect to the audience no matter if they’re religious or not. This film was three hours long but it was consistently engaging. Jennifer Jones made a perfect Bernadette; such conviction, innocence. and purity. The film also features a typically wonderful Vincent Price.

Love Letters (1945) dir: William Dieterle

tumblr_om3hhoqcrl1uwp6gyo1_1280

Jones was paired with Joseph Cotten in this haunting love story between an amnesiac and a former soldier. She was found guilty of killing her husband, who was also his friend, but the two fall for each other anyway. This is where Jones’ vulnerability was so prominent to me. She seemed like such a fragile person onscreen, someone you want to protect. Really a tremendous performance.

Cluny Brown (1946) dir: Ernst Lubitsch

5241175_orig

At first I couldn’t picture Jones in a comedy, and then I watched Cluny Brown. She plays the eponymous heroine, an aspiring plumber. Her dreams shock the prim English society she’s part of, but she charms political refugee Adam Belinksi (Charles Boyer).

Portrait of Jennie (1948) dir: William Dieterle

tumblr_owuhsbq1rs1s5wuldo2_1280

Oh my soul. The final teaming of Jones and Cotten, in one of the most exquisite love stories. I read the novel by Robert Nathan, which is so lyrical in its prose, and the film retained that essence. This is a story for people who love classic films and fall in love with people from the past. It’s a film for all those who love ghosts too. A film about artistic inspiration and the headiness of passionate love. And it looks gorgeous too. Evocative, shimmering images, and one scene at the climax that reminded me of a color tinted silent film. Jennifer Jones was at the height of her beauty and her ability in my opinion. This one is strongly recommended.

5 thoughts on “Month in Movies: September

  1. I love how eloquently you wrote of Portrait of Jennie. You captured its essence perfectly.

    I also love what you wrote about Don Bluth. Some of his work makes tears spring to my eyes, like a beautiful piece of music.

    The Glass Slipper was the first movie that made my daughter cry. She was 6 and the ballet when Ella thought the Prince was marrying someone else really got to her. Going back further, when I was a kid I wanted to look just like Maureen O’Hara in The Parent Trap when I grew up. I didn’t factor in genetics. Oh, well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cluny Brown! It’s one of those rare gems of my younger years that made me cheer because of how ‘edgy’ it was. A woman plumber!? The social-political undertones were shocking to younger me and excited me too. I first watched it and The Farmer’s Daughter (Loretta Young) around the same time so I was especially shook.

    And of course you know I love The Glass Slipper. I mean, how can I not???? This adaptation arguably has had a lot of influence on other adaptations of Cinderella like: The Slipper and The Rose, Rodgers & Hammerstein’s original musical adaptation, Ever After, and the updated Rodgers & Hammerstein’s musical.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

